2020 Alberta Juno Winners & Polaris Prize Short List


A huge congratulations to the 2020 Alberta Juno Award winners, Celeigh Cardinal and Striker!

Celeigh Cardinal won Indigenous Artist of the Year for her album, “Stories From a Downtown Apartment”

Striker won Metal/ Hard Music Album of the Year for their album, “Play to Win”

Find the full list of 2020 Juno Award winners here



The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music, unveiled the 10 albums on the 2020 Short List. Congratulations to nêhiyawak who made it on the list, for their album, “nipiy”.

The 2020 Polaris Music Prize Short List is:

Backxwash – God Has Nothing To Do With This Leave Him Out Of It
Caribou – Suddenly
Junia-T – Studio Monk
Kaytranada – Bubba
nêhiyawak – nipiy
Pantayo – Pantayo
Lido Pimienta – Miss Colombia
Jessie Reyez – Before Love Came To Kill Us
U.S. Girls – Heavy Light
Witch Prophet – DNA Activation

Polaris will be celebrating the Short List with a special cinematic tribute happening October 19 to be broadcast in Canada on the CBC Gem streaming service, CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages and around the globe at CBCMusic.ca/Polaris. The 2020 Polaris-winning album will be revealed live at the end of this event.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. Additionally, the nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2020 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.